Magileads

Lead Generation - Commercial Prospecting - B2B contact base included - lead nurtuting - lead scoring - retargeting

Prospect in 3 clicks:
21 million B2B contacts

The most complete omnichannel prospecting tool on the market

Criteria for implementing a
lead scoring

For any business, establishing an inbound marketing strategy essentially results from the need to attract as many leads as possible into the sales funnel. Mainly through the distribution of relevant and, above all, attractive content. Once this objective is achieved, it is all the more necessary to distinguish between leads already ready to purchase your product and those still in the solution research and comparison phase. Hence the favorable intervention of lead scoring.

Article Summary

Need more leads?
Try Magileads!

How to define lead scoring?

Lead scoring is generally defined as a marketing process, allowing each lead of a company to be given a quantitative value: that is to say a point or at least a score. In other words, a lead scoring system, but how is that possible? This is done on the basis of different attribution criteria, such as the prospect's professional data and especially their online behavior towards the company. It's a whole system helping marketers and salespeople in managing prospects, particularly being able to respond to their needs in a relevant way in order to turn them into qualified leads.

Several lead scoring marketing strategies are implemented by online sales companies, but the most famous is this one, which is based on information from already existing customers to establish this lead scoring system. The principle would be to identify the common characteristics of these then isolate them from new leads. This will allow you to clearly determine which attribute to prioritize in your inbound marketing conversion process.

Need more leads?
Try Magileads!

What are the lead scoring criteria?

As previously stated, lead scoring is carried out on the basis of certain criteria specific to the main “buyer persona” profile established by the company. These criteria essentially revolve around the information you collect from leads. We include in particular:

  • Company information (B2B marketing);
  • Prospect demographics;
  • The lead's online attitude;
  • His commitment by email;
  • The interest that the lead has in the company on social networks;
  • Spam detection.

For a score between 0 and 100, each of these criteria must guarantee an irrefutable probability of purchase on the part of the prospect.

Socio-demographic data

When we talk about socio-demographic data, we mainly refer to a person's age, gender, region, profession, marital status. In our case, this is information about your leads that you collect through the various forms on your website. If this information allows you to determine your target and personalize your marketing campaign for sales, it should above all serve you in the segmentation of your CRM database.

Assuming that each of your products is geared towards a specific demographic segment, it is all the more important that you rule out any prospect who does not meet this target profile with a negative score. If, on the other hand, the information collected on a lead matches, rate it with positive points. You can even award extra points to prospects who fill out optional form fields.

Firmographic data

If your sales activity is categorized as b2b marketing, your target is undoubtedly a company like yours. Firmographic data can then be considered as the equivalent of socio-demographic data in b2c marketing. In order to qualify your target as a potential customer or not and to help you in your lead scoring process, you can include questions in your forms to collect as much information as possible. Whether in terms of size, type of activity, turnover, location... Enough to allow you to award points to leads who correspond to your target and exclude those who do not. not.

Online lead behavior

It has been proven more than once that the attitude of a prospect on a site is very significant in terms of his purchasing decision. It would therefore be ideal to study the behavioral history of former prospects who became customers, that is to say how they behaved when faced with the different content on the site. For example, the offers that may have interested them, those they downloaded, the type and number of pages they visited or even the type of form filled out. All of this could help you in lead scoring. It would indeed be wise to award more points to prospects visiting high-yield pages and forms (price page, demo request, etc.). The same as for leads who visit your website 15 times while others 5 times in the same time.

However, for a lead who ceases all activity on your platform for a certain period of time, you should possibly consider deducting points from them. This behavior could be defined as a sudden disinterest of the prospect in your company.

The lead's interest in your business through email

Just like your content, email is a crucial point of your inbound marketing strategy; the interest your leads have in it is significant. However, simply subscribing to your newsletter is also not conclusive on the part of the lead in terms of purchase. It is above all through the email opening and click rate that one’s intentions become clear. Knowing who opens and reads the contents of each email and then clicks on the offer links should make it easier for all of your salespeople to choose qualified leads. They certainly won't have to waste time on false lead nurturing leads. This commitment is therefore a valid pretext for assigning prospects a positive rating score.

Lead engagement with your social media strategy

If a lead has the habit of liking and then sharing your tweet and Facebook post content, it means that they are really interested in your brand on social networks. This is obviously a huge commitment to your business. Quantitative metrics (number of positive reactions from the prospect, shares, comments, etc.) above all represent good indicators for lead scoring. The score would be relatively higher for a qualified prospect who also has a strong influence on social networks. He could even later become an ambassador for your brand.

Leads in the spam category

To top it all off, watch out for leads classified as “spam”. Makes you wonder how this is possible. There are indeed these prospects to whom you will systematically have to give a negative score. Those whose responses to forms do not fit with the established convention are the typical example. Prospect's first and last names without capital letters, the same for company names or other fields containing a succession of at least 4 letters according to the AZERTY provision.

The newly entered email addresses should also be compared to those of your customers. For example, if your inbound strategy targets a company as a lead, it's obvious to expect a business address like example@company.com. However, when you are faced with Gmail and Yahoo addresses, it will be enough to reduce the number of score points compared to that of the others.

Need more leads?
Try Magileads!

How to identify the right data for your lead nurturing marketing strategy?

Given that you collect a fairly large amount of information, the question remains how to assess its relevance to your inbound marketing. The best thing would probably be to refer to your sales team, to discuss with your customers or to rely on analytics reports. For sure, the solution would ideally be to combine these three possibilities. You will thus have all the necessary data to better capture the philosophy of each lead, from the content to the offers that they consider attractive.

Consult the existing sales team

Depending on your inbound marketing tactic, your sales agents, namely your sales team, are those who are directly in contact with prospects, whether they become customers or not. They are therefore the best able to see the results of your inbound marketing. Thus, they can precisely inform you about the type of marketing content to put in place to facilitate your lead scoring.

In addition to the type of content or the type of offers likely to interest prospects, salespeople are able to inform you about the number of points to attribute to each type of content.

Talk to customers

Despite the fact that your sales agents know enough about the type of content favorable for converting prospects, customer opinions would also be welcome. Since they have experienced this during the sales cycle, their point of view is all the more useful. You may see a difference with the information from your sales agents.

Take into account data analysis reports

To support the information obtained so far from customers and salespeople, you can rely on attribution reports from marketing analytics. These, thanks to marketing tools like Hubspot CRM software, allow you to concretely know which actions generate the most conversions during the sales cycle. It should be remembered that the content distributed, even relevant, is not the only element to take into account in your lead scoring process. These reports can provide you with more than just the type of relevant content, such as the most viewed pages.

Need more leads?
Try Magileads!

How to Determine Lead Score

There are several marketing methods dedicated to calculating prospect scores, but if you are just getting started with lead scoring, you might as well rely on the simplest one. This is essentially carried out step by step depending on other elements, we invite you to proceed as follows.

Calculate the conversion percentage of prospects into customers

Having its place above all in the reference in lead marketing, this rate represents the quotient of the total number of new customers by the total number of prospects generated.

Choose the attributes linked to your qualified lead profile

As already mentioned, you will need to rate your prospects in relation to the attributes that you consider subjective to the expected commercial result. It is therefore appropriate for you to choose these elements based on the information you may have received from your salespeople, your customers or the results of marketing analytics.

Calculate the individual conclusion rate of each chosen attribute

Especially since it influences your inbound marketing actions, it is absolutely essential to calculate the individual conclusion rate of the attributes selected and identified in each lead. Start by evaluating the number of prospects who become qualified leads and then customers based on the elements highlighted.

Compare the previous result to your overall conclusion percentage then finally award the points accordingly

The goal is to find the attributes whose individual conclusion rate is significantly higher than your overall conclusion rate and then award them points. Certainly, the values ​​will be chosen on the fly, but make sure that there is some consistency. Let's take the example of an attribute worth a conclusion rate of 40% compared to your overall rate of 15%, you can rate each lead demonstrating this attribute by 25 points.

Need more leads?
Try Magileads!

More lead scoring methods

Apart from the basic marketing method of lead scoring previously highlighted, there are others which are based on very in-depth exploitation of data. Among others, logistic regression and predictive scoring.

Logistic regression in marketing

Since marketing data mining methods are more delicate, these require you to get to grips with Excel workbooks. Logistic regression indeed involves the creation of a formula (solution) aimed at precisely determining the possibility of any conversion of lead into customer. Taking into account all possible attribution elements, this method has the advantage of presenting real conclusion rates in a much more intuitive manner.

Predictive scoring

The advantages of implementing a lead scoring system can no longer be refuted, even if there is still a slight problem. Until now, we have built a lead scoring system using a manual approach. Which in the long run becomes very burdensome for marketing management because it remains a one-off and regular task.

The simple solution would then be to entrust this task to a well-advanced CRM software, such as Hubspot. It is in this logic that forecast lead scoring comes into play. A completely automated system that saves you time and efficiency. Hubspot is therefore CRM software that performs all lead scoring management functions on its own. Allowing your sales agents to focus only on leads likely to become customers.

Need more leads?
Try Magileads!

They use our email marketing tool

Need more leads?
Try Magileads!

More articles on prospecting and email marketing

Business development

B2B commercial prospecting: to find customers effectively Article summary What is commercial prospecting? (sales, prospects, etc.) Commercial prospecting is a

Read more "

Magileads : Prospection commerciale

Prospecter en 3 clics :
21 millions de contacts B2B 

L’outil de prospection omnicanal le plus complet du marché

Critères pour la mise en place d’une stratégie
de lead scoring

Pour toute entreprise, établir une stratégie inbound marketing résulte essentiellement du besoin de s’attirer autant de leads possibles dans l’entonnoir des ventes. Principalement par la diffusion de contenus pertinents et surtout attrayants. Dès lors cet objectif atteint, il est d’autant plus nécessaire de faire la distinction entre les leads déjà prêts à l’achat de votre produit et ceux encore en phase de recherche et de comparaison de solution. D’où l’intervention propice du lead scoring.

Sommaire de l'article

Besoin de plus de leads ? 
Essayez Magileads !

Comment définir le lead scoring ?

Le lead scoring est généralement défini comme étant un processus marketing, permettant d’accorder à chaque lead d’une entreprise une valeur quantitative : c’est-à-dire un point ou du moins un score. En d’autres termes, un système de notation de lead, mais comment est-ce possible ? Ceci s’effectue sur la base de différents critères d’attribution, tels que les données professionnelles du prospect et surtout son comportement en ligne vis-à-vis de l’entreprise. C’est tout un système aidant les marketeurs et commerciaux dans la gestion des prospects, particulièrement pouvoir répondre à leurs besoins de façon pertinente afin d’en faire des leads qualifiés.

Plusieurs stratégies marketing de lead scoring sont d’autant mises en place par les entreprises de vente en ligne, mais la plus réputée est celle-ci, qui se base sur les informations des clients déjà existants pour établir ce système de notation de prospect. Le principe serait d’identifier les caractères communs de ces derniers puis les isoler auprès des nouveaux leads. Ceci vous permettra de déterminer distinctement, tel ou tel attribut à prioriser dans votre processus de conversion inbound marketing.

Besoin de plus de leads ? 
Essayez Magileads !

Quels sont les critères du lead scoring ?

Comme précédemment énoncé, le lead scoring s’effectue sur la base de certains critères propres au principal profil “buyer persona” établi par l’entreprise. Ces critères tournent essentiellement autour des informations que vous collectez auprès des leads. Nous comptons notamment :

  • Les informations sur la société (marketing B2B) ;
  • Les données démographiques du prospect ;
  • L’attitude en ligne du lead ;
  • Son engagement par mail ;
  • L’intérêt que le lead porte à l’entreprise sur les réseaux sociaux ;
  • La détection de spam.

Pour un score compris entre 0 et 100, chacun de ces critères doit garantir une irréfutable probabilité d’achat de la part du prospect.

Les données socio-démographiques

Quand on parle de données socio-démographiques, on fait essentiellement référence à l’âge, au sexe, à la région, à la profession, à la situation matrimoniale d’une personne. Dans notre cas, ce sont des informations sur vos leads que vous collectez par le biais des différents formulaires présents sur votre site web. Si ces informations vous permettent de déterminer votre cible et personnaliser votre campagne marketing pour la vente, elles doivent surtout vous servir dans la segmentation de votre base CRM.

À supposer que chacun de vos produits soit orienté vers un segment démographique spécifique, il est d’autant plus important que vous écartiez par un score négatif, tout prospect ne répondant pas à ce profil cible. Si par contre les informations recueillies sur un lead correspondent, notez-le par des points positifs. Vous pouvez même accorder des points supplémentaires aux prospects qui remplissent les champs de formulaire facultatifs.

Les données firmographiques

Si votre activité de vente est catégorisée marketing b2b, votre cible est à coup sûr une société comme la vôtre. Les données firmographiques peuvent alors être considérées comme l’équivalent des données socio-démographiques en marketing b2c. Afin de qualifier votre cible de potentiel client ou pas et de vous aider dans votre processus de lead scoring, vous pouvez inclure dans vos formulaires des questions permettant de collecter le plus d’informations possible. Que ce soit en ce qui concerne la taille, le genre d’activité, le chiffre d’affaires, l’emplacement… De quoi vous permettre d’octroyer des points aux leads qui correspondent à votre cible et écarter ceux qui n’y correspondent pas.

Le comportement du lead en ligne

Il a été prouvé plus d’une fois que l’attitude d’un prospect sur un site est très significative quant à sa décision d’achat. Il serait donc idéal d’étudier l’historique comportemental des anciens prospects devenus clients, c’est-à-dire comment ces derniers se sont comportés face aux différents contenus du site. Par exemple les offres qui ont pu les intéresser, ceux qu’ils ont téléchargés, le type et le nombre de pages qu’ils ont visité ou encore le genre de formulaire rempli. Tout cela pourrait vous servir en lead scoring. Il serait en effet judicieux d’accorder plus de points aux prospects visitant des pages et formulaires à fort rendement (page de tarif, demande de démonstration…). De même que pour des leads qui se rendent sur votre site web 15 fois tandis que d’autres 5 fois dans le même temps.

Néanmoins pour un lead qui cesse pendant un certain moment toute activité sur votre plateforme, il faudrait éventuellement penser à lui retirer des points. Ce comportement pourrait se définir comme un soudain désintérêt du prospect pour votre société.

L’intérêt du lead pour votre entreprise à travers l’email

Tout comme vos contenus, l’email est un point crucial de votre stratégie inbound marketing, l’intérêt que vos leads y portent est non négligeable. Toutefois, simplement s’inscrire à votre newsletter n’est pas non plus concluant de la part du lead en termes d’achat. C’est surtout à son taux d’ouverture de mails et de clic que s’éclaircissent ses intentions. Savoir qui ouvre et lit les contenus de chaque mail pour ensuite cliquer sur les liens d’offres devrait faciliter l’ensemble de vos commerciaux dans le choix des leads qualifiés. Ils n’auront certainement pas à perdre du temps sur de fausses pistes de lead nurturing. Cet engagement est donc un prétexte valable pour attribuer aux prospects, un score de notation positif.

L’engagement du lead vis-à-vis de votre stratégie social média

Si un lead a l’habitude de liker puis de partager vos contenus tweets et post Facebook, c’est qu’il porte réellement d’intérêt à votre marque sur les réseaux sociaux. C’est bien évidemment un énorme engagement par rapport à votre entreprise. Les métriques quantitatives (nombre de réactions positives du prospect, de partages, de commentaires…) représentent surtout de bons indicateurs quant à la notation des leads. Le score serait relativement plus élevé pour un prospect qualifié ayant de surcroit une forte influence sur les réseaux sociaux. Il pourrait même par la suite devenir ambassadeur de votre marque.

Les leads dans la catégorie spam

Pour couronner le tout, faire attention aux leads classifiés “spam”. À se demander comment cela est possible.  Il existe en effet de ces prospects à qui vous devrez systématiquement octroyer un score négatif. Ceux dont les réponses aux formulaires ne cadrent pas avec la convention instaurée en sont l’exemple typique. Des noms et prénoms de prospect sans lettre majuscule, de même pour des noms de société ou autres champs contenant une succession d’au moins 4 lettres selon la disposition AZERTY.

Les adresses e-mail nouvellement renseignées sont également à comparer par rapport à celles de vos clients. Par exemple, si votre stratégie inbound cible une entreprise en tant que prospect, il est évident de s’attendre à une adresse professionnelle comme exemple@entreprise.com. Lorsque vous êtes pourtant confronté à des adresses Gmail et Yahoo, il suffira de réduire le nombre de points de score par rapport à celui des autres.

Besoin de plus de leads ? 
Essayez Magileads !

Comment identifier les données propices pour votre stratégie marketing de lead nurturing ?

Etant données que vous collectez une assez grande quantité d’informations, il reste à savoir comment évaluer leur pertinence relativement à votre marketing inbound. Le mieux serait probablement de vous référer à votre équipe de commerciaux, de discuter avec vos clients ou encore de vous reposer sur les rapports analytics. Pour sûr, la solution serait idéalement de combiner ces trois possibilités. Vous aurez ainsi toutes les données nécessaires afin de mieux capter la philosophie de chaque lead, des contenus aux offres qu’ils jugent attrayantes.

Consulter l’équipe des ventes en place

Selon votre tactique inbound marketing, vos agents commerciaux, à savoir votre équipe de vente, sont ceux qui sont directement en contact avec les prospects, qu’ils deviennent clients ou pas. Ils sont donc les plus à même de constater les résultats de votre marketing inbound. Ainsi, ils peuvent précisément vous renseigner sur le type de contenus marketing à mettre en place pour ainsi faciliter votre lead scoring.

Outre le type de contenus ou encore le type d’offres susceptible d’intéresser les prospects, les commerciaux sont capables de vous informer sur le nombre de points à attribuer à chaque type de contenus.

S’entretenir avec les clients

Malgré le fait que vos agents commerciaux en savent assez quant au type de contenus favorable pour la conversion des prospects, l’avis des clients serait également la bienvenue. Ces derniers en ayant fait l’expérience lors du cycle de vente, leur point de vue est d’autant plus utile. Vous y verrez possiblement une différence avec les renseignements de vos agents de ventes.

Tenir compte des rapports d’analyses de données

Pour soutenir les informations obtenues jusque-là auprès des clients et des commerciaux, vous pouvez vous fier aux rapports d’attributions issus de l’analytics marketing. Ceux-ci grâce à des outils marketing comme le logiciel CRM Hubspot vous permettent de concrètement savoir quelles actions génèrent le plus de conversions au cours du cycle de ventes. Il convient de rappeler que les contenus diffusés, même pertinents, ne sont pas les seuls éléments à prendre en compte dans votre processus de lead scoring. Ces rapports peuvent vous fournir bien au-delà du genre de contenus pertinents, les pages les plus consultées par exemple.

Besoin de plus de leads ? 
Essayez Magileads !

Comment déterminer le score des prospects

Il existe plusieurs méthodes marketing dédiées au calcul du score des prospects, mais si vous ne faites que débuter en lead scoring, autant se fier à la plus simple. Celle-ci s’effectuant essentiellement étape par étape en fonction d’autres éléments, nous vous invitons à procéder comme suit.

Calculer le pourcentage de conversion des prospects en clients

Ayant surtout sa place dans la référence en marketing de lead, ce taux représente le quotient du nombre total de nouveaux clients par le nombre total de prospects générés.

Choisir les attributs liés à votre profil de lead qualifié

Comme déjà évoqué, il vous faudra noter vos prospects par rapport aux attributs que vous jugez subjectifs au résultat commercial attendu. Il vous convient donc de choisir ces éléments en fonction des renseignements que vous avez pu avoir de la part vos commerciaux, de vos clients ou encore des résultats d’analytics marketing.

Calculer le taux de conclusion individuel de chaque attribut choisi

D’autant plus qu’il influe sur vos actions inbound marketing, il est tout à fait indispensable de calculer le taux de conclusion individuel des attribut sélectionnés et identifiés chez chaque lead. Commencez par évaluer le nombre de prospect qui devient lead qualifié puis client en fonction des éléments mis en évidence.

Comparer le précédent résultat à votre pourcentage de conclusion global puis enfin attribuer les points en conséquence

Le but est de trouver les attributs dont le taux de conclusion individuel est largement supérieur à votre taux de conclusion globale pour ensuite les octroyer des points. Certes, les valeurs seront choisies à la volée, mais assurez-vous qu’il subsiste une certaine cohérence. Prenons l’exemple d’un attribut valant un taux de conclusion de 40% par rapport à votre taux global de 15%, vous pouvez noter de 25 points chaque lead démontrant de cet attribut.

Besoin de plus de leads ? 
Essayez Magileads !

Plus de méthodes de lead scoring

En dehors de la méthode marketing basique de lead scoring précédemment mise en évidence, il en existe d’autres qui se basent sur une exploitation bien approfondie des données. Entre autres, la régression logistique et le scoring prévisionnel.

La régression logistique en marketing

Étant donné que les méthodes d’exploration de données marketing sont plus délicates, celles-ci vous obligent à prendre en main les classeurs Excel. La régression logistique implique en effet la réalisation d’une formule (solution) visant à déterminer avec précision l’éventualité d’une quelconque conversion de lead en client. Tenant compte de tous les éléments d’attribution possibles, cette méthode à l’avantage de présenter de manière bien plus intuitive des taux de conclusions réels.

Le scoring prévisionnel

Les avantages quant à la mise en place d’un système de lead scoring ne sont plus à réfutés, même s’il subsiste tout de même une légère problématique. Jusqu’à lors, nous avons érigé un système de notation de lead selon une approche manuelle. Ce qui à la longue devient bien pesant à la gestion marketing car cela reste une tâche ponctuelle et régulière.

La solution toute simple serait alors de confier cette tâche à un logiciel crm bien avancé,tel que Hubspot. C’est dans cette logique qu’intervient le scoring prévisionnel de lead. Un système tout bonnement automatisé qui vous fait gagner en temps et en efficacité. Hubspot est donc un logiciel crm effectuant à lui tout seul toutes les fonctions de gestion du lead scoring. Permettant ainsi à vos agents de vente de se focaliser uniquement sur les leads susceptibles de devenir clients.

Besoin de plus de leads ? 
Essayez Magileads !

Ils utilisent notre outil d’email marketing

Besoin de plus de leads ? 
Essayez Magileads !

Plus d’articles sur la prospection et l’email marketing

Prospection commerciale

Prospecter en 3 clics :21 millions de contacts B2B  L’outil de prospection omnicanal le plus complet du marché Créer un compte gratuit Prospection commerciale B2B :pour trouver des clients efficacement

Lire plus »